New proposals announced today by the European Commision will see a raft of new safety features become mandatory in all new vehicles within three years.  The new safety technology, much of it already recognisable in modern vehicles, will be a legal requirement for manufacturers to include across their entire fleets. It's thought that the introduction of these rules could save an estimated 7,300 lives and prevent 38,900 serious injuries between 2020 and 2030.

Eleven new features to become mandatory in 2021:

  1. Advanced emergency braking
  2. Alcohol interlock installation facilitation
  3. Drowsiness and attention detection
  4. Event (accident) data recorder
  5. Emergency stop signal
  6. Full-width frontal occupant protection crash test - improved seatbelts
  7. Head impact zone enlargement for pedestrians and cyclists - safety glass in case of crash
  8. Intelligent speed assistance
  9. Lane keeping assist
  10. Pole side impact occupant protection
  11. Reversing camera or detection system

Introducing the new safety ruling a European Commission spokesperson confirmed "90% of road accidents are due to human error. The new mandatory safety features we propose today will reduce the number of accidents and pave the way for a driverless future of connected and automated driving."

It's thought that in the coming years a further four mandatory features will follow.